Hello World!

Some of the best advice I ever received

Some of the best advice I ever received

My name is Breanna O’Brien, but most people call me Bre.

I have been writing since I can remember. There are a lot of people who have had a hand in my writing and who have made me who I am today, but for now I’ll just tell you about myself. I started considering being a full time writer over a decade ago. I remember the exact moment vividly.

I was sitting in my history class towards the beginning of eighth grade and my history teacher was talking about the formation of the American Colonies and indentured servants. He mentioned something about orphans and children being used as well, and in that moment, the idea for a story just clicked. I wrote that story, in pencil, in a spiral bound notebook, and I am happy to say I finished it, and it sucked. I am bummed to say that pencil and over a decade of wear has not been good for the pages.

Even though that story sucked, for many reasons, it taught me valuable lessons that I still think about today. Since that first story I have finished several more and each time they get better. Will I ever publish that first draft of the story, most likely not. Will I rewrite it someday? Maybe.

Why am I telling you all of this in my first post ever? Because it matters. Sure, it’s embarrassing that I couldn’t decide on a name for the heroine so I just kept changing it, and sure it’s embarrassing that it was this sappy romance even though I had never even been kissed yet, but it was the story that taught me a lot about what to do and more importantly what not to do.

Since then, I have grown a lot in my writing practices and in life experiences in general. I have graduated middle school (thank Goodness!), high school, and college with an AA in nursing. I have loved (perhaps several more times than I should have) and I have lost. Life has taught me a lot about writing. Writing has taught me a lot about life too.Currently I am writing a series, or at least planning it, and writing short stories in between, but I’m hoping to be published soon (after several rounds of editing).

I’ve been writing for years, but I’ve been doing most of it in secret, because I think for a long time I was embarrassed of my words or what I had to say. Recently a lot has changed in a short period of time and as I’ve grown in relation to those changes, so has my confidence.

I’m here now to say “Hello World! I am a writer and I want you to read my words!”

I hope you will read them.

And just for kicks and giggles:

This is the old me, I was around 15 at the time.

This is the old me, pretty awkward and 15

This is the me of today, or pretty close.

This is the me of today.

4 thoughts on “Hello World!

  1. breannalobrien says:

    As of right now, I’m kind of feeling out what I want to write about. It will most likely be things to do with fiction writing and editing, with some life and personal thoughts thrown in. I hope you enjoy it 🙂

    Like

  2. Arielle says:

    Welcome to the blogosphere! I can’t wait to read more from you 🙂 What will you be writing about on this blog? I just followed you, it would be great if we can support each other! I hope you’ll enjoy blogging as much as we all do here ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

