Goals for 2015

I’ve done a lot of talking about goals, and how important they are, but I haven’t really shared any of mine yet. I suppose this post would hold more importance around the new year, but goals can and should be considered all the time. The new year is a great reason to start new goals, but it shouldn’t be the only reason.

My goals for 2015 are:

1. Write every day- This goal should be pretty obvious. I am a writer and if I want to continue to be a writer, I should take it seriously and write. I have tried this goal several times, for several years, but something always gets in the way. So far, I have missed a few days here and there, but I am not perfect, nor do I claim to be. Since starting this goal in the middle of January, I have written around 20K total.

2. Finish the second book in my series- I started the second book, Little Earthquakes: The Child, in November of 2012 (Thanks, NaNo!). The end of that year and the beginning of 2013 were very stressful for me, and I barely even touched the surface of the second book. After editing and rewriting parts of the first book, the plots of book two changed into something better. Since I finished the third draft of book one, it’s time to let that rest and give some life to book two.

3. Edit the first book in the series- I began the first book, Spark: The Girl, in November of 2011 (Thank you, NaNo!) and I had parts of a plot, but not any ideas strong enough for a whole series (which it quickly became). After finishing the first draft, and realizing the holes and the several changes it needed, I began to write draft two, which then became draft three after several more realizations. Now that draft three is done and complete, it’s time to try something new and edit it thoroughly and start looking for a publisher. Maybe even draft four too.

4. Write a short story every month- I used to struggle with short stories. I figured why write a short story when you could write a whole novel? I began my first short story in April of 2013, to challenge myself, and I actually ended up liking it. I decided when 2014 rolled around to do a short story a month. I managed to write nine short stories and start a tenth before 2015 started. I liked it so much last year that I’m doing it again this year. Not only does it flex my creative muscles, but it gives me the option to work on something else if I get stuck in a novel.

5. Send something out for a contest and/or publishing- This was one of my goals last year. I expected to be finished with the third draft way sooner than I actually finished it, and I was going to edit it quickly, find an agent and a publisher and have it published by the end of the year. That didn’t happen and to be honest, I’m quite glad. It would have been a complete mess. However, what did happen was way better. I found out about a short story contest and submitted what I thought was my best work. I didn’t win or anything special, but at least I tried. It was frightening at first, to say the least, but the confidence boost afterward was one of the best gifts ever. I plan to do something like that again this year.
image

Now that I’ve shared mine, what are some of your goals?

Leave a Reply

