Writer Life Lesson #14: Restarting, Rewriting and Picking it up Again.

Writing is not easy. Anyone who has had to write anything will tell you that. It doesn’t matter if it’s an essay, or a short story, or a novel, or even an email. Getting the words and images from your head to the page is sometimes the hardest thing writers do. Sometimes the words on the psge don’t match our vision of our work. So what do we do about that?

If you’ve ever written anything, I’m sure you’ve crossed something out, backspaced, or even torn pages out or deleted the file entirely. This is normal for writers, and it does not make you any less of a writer for doing so. If you’re anything like me, you’ve probably just stopped a piece altogether and have never since returned. This is completely normal too.

This week’s lesson has to do with restarting, rewriting, and picking up where you left off.

Life happens. There are things that we writers cannot avoid. You think you have the day to write and then you remember that the house is a mess, the in laws are in town, and the rent is overdue. Life gets in the way of writing. Or if you’re like me, school gets in the way, an essay is due, your finals are sneaking up on you, and you’re three weeks behind on the reading. And all you wanted to do was write. It starts as just one day, then it becomes a week, and then a month, and before you know it you can’t remember the last day you wrote, or blogged, or tweeted.

Sometimes it’s so long that you look at your work and can’t remember where you were going with it, or you hate that you added a scene with vampires because your little cousin wanted to watch all of the Twilight movies. Writing changes as we do. It’s fluid and changing, until it’s published.

My point?

You are not a quitter if you decide to restart or rewrite or let the piece go

This lesson comes to mind since it is pretty personal to me. I have so many pieces that I start and never finish. I have something like 12 or more novels started that I have not finished or even reached the halfway point in. Some of these are products of NaNoWriMo, Script Frenzy, and Camp NaNoWriMo (Which the July session started on Wednesday). I have been thinking about what I wanted to write for weeks almost. Do I want to start something new, or try and restart or rewrite something else? Am I breaking the rules if I continue a story I’ve already started?

I decided that Camp NaNoWriMo is my catch all. I start too many projects and have lofty writing goals for 2015 and to complete my goals there has to be a few catch up months. Camp NaNo is a way for me to continue my writing goals and be held accountable for my word count. I have decided that for Camp NaNoWriMo, I am going to catch up on the short stories I have yet to write this year, the short stories I started in the April Camp session, and the rest of book two as well. I will have no shortage of opportunities for words, and I hope no shortage of inspiration either.

As long as you keep writing, you can’t be called a quitter. So keep writing and reach your goals!

And if you want to join me in the July session of Camp NaNoWriMo: Here

Leave a Reply

