2015 Successes and 2016 Goals

2015 has definitely been a year of transition for me. It seemed to take a long time in the moment, but now that it is almost over, it seemed to fly by. A lot has happened in 2015, some things permanent and some things not so permanent. 

In 2015 I:

Traveled by Plane for the First Time:

In March, my boyfriend and I traveled to Phoenix to meet his dad and his family. It was my first plane ride and it was awesome! I am sure it will not be the last.

   

Got Two Tattoos:

The first tattoo was in April, to honor my mom. It is a purple butterfly on my right shoulder.

 

Butterfly after being touched up for the third time

 
 The second was the day after Christmas, a blue owl bought with my first paycheck from a nursing job. 

 

The owl a few days after, before the peeling started

 
Passed my NCLEX-RN:

After six months of studying I took my boards in June and passed. I am now officially a registered nurse!

Had Seven Interviews:

With a new license, comes new responsibilities. I had four interviews with three different hospitals, and two interviews for non nursing jobs, and one interview for a doctor’s office. 

Had Two Jobs and One Volunteering Opportunity:

Two of the interviews stuck. I worked at Panera Bread for just over a month and am now working for a cardiologist’s office. I have never been happier. 

 

Ready for Work at Panera

  

First day of the nursing job

 I also began volunteering at a local hospital in hopes of getting a job there, but nothing happened so I am volunteering because it helps others. 

Wrote Several Short Stories:

While 2015 has been a year of several transitions, I have been able to write several short stories and continue to write. I doubt this will stop anytime soon as writing is my passion. 

Learned/Am Still Learning Spanish, American Sign Language, Russian and French:

In an effort to partly make my resume stand out and partly feel like I can help people and patients more than just treating them, I decided to learn Spanish since it is pretty much the second language of my local community. I also decided to start learning ASL because I have always wanted to learn it since 6th grade. I decided to freshen up my French and Russian (which I have been learning for two weeks now) looked fun. 

I know I’m probably forgetting a few accomplishments in this list, but those are the big ones. 

Now for next year’s goals:

In 2016 I hope to:

  1. Edit the third draft of my novel and maybe publish it, if not publish in 2017.
  2. Continue to write short stories, at least one a month if not more. 
  3. Continue to further my education and at least start a BSN/MSN program. 
  4. Continue to learn languages and other things to help me in my fields of study. 
  5. Start my life by saving money and building credit to find a place and move out. 
Leave a Reply

