Digging up the Past

Where have I been all your life? I’ve been there, but not there entirely. When I was born you were nearly thirty and had already lived so much life without me. 

We had a few years together, just you and I, but I was too young to remember them. You hold the secret to what my first word was, where I took my first steps, and how I was potty trained. You hold so many secrets, but I never got to ask you about any of it. 

Those secrets went with you when you left us and I can’t help but lament the things I’ll never know. 

I’ve got 100 resolutions but none of them are what I want to know from you. 

Our time together was never resolved. We didn’t have the resolutions I wanted. 

We’ll never know each other as well as we wanted. 

Leave a Reply

