When the Sun Sets 

You are my sunshine, 

My only Sunshine.

When we met you were the only bright spot in my life. Everything else was shit and that night that you introduced yourself was the night that I felt like I could breathe again, like the storms in my life had finally ceased. 

You make me happy,

When skies are grey.

Your smile, even though my jokes were corny and badly timed, made everything all worth it. That time that we were trapped for two hoursin the snow storm with the flat tire while AAA took their sweet time was the best, even though I complained. 

You’ll never know, dear,

How much I love you.

Even though I was never able to say those three words out loud, I would like to think that you knew. It was in the way I met your parents, even though they scared the shit out of me, and how I braved Walmart on Black Friday to get you tampons and chocolate even though you didn’t ask for the chocolate. The way I would bring you tea and snacks to remind you to eat. 

Please don’t take my sunshine away. 

I’m sorry… for everything. 

Leave a Reply

